carrot cake balls

15 Apr

alright, i will admit it.  i made these specifically so that i could say balls often and at seemingly inappropriate times.  they bring out the 12-old-boy in me.  if asking a coworker/friend/random passing stranger to sample your balls doesn’t make you chuckle…well, then you are probably much more mature than i am.  that being said, this was my attempt at bakerella‘s red velvet cake balls.  i arrived at the grocery store extremely pumped for an evening of baking balls (ha, still gets me), only to discover no red velvet cake mix.  back up plan: call a trusty friend for the ingredients to make it from scratch.  but alas, i had forgotten my cell phone.  i contemplated for a moment what they would have done back in the day without cell phones, all the way back in 1982.  and realized i had no idea.  so i just decided to go with a carrot cake ball instead.  now, im not exactly a big carrot cake fan.  but i am of the belief that you can train yourself to like anything if you taste it enough, so why not carrot cake balls?

what you’ll need: 1 box carrot cake mix, 1 can cream cheese frosting, 3 eggs, vegetable oil, several baking chocolate bars (i made the mistake of getting too little, and ended up rummaging throughout my cabinets and melting any chocolate i could find, which proved interesting, but is not recommended.)

 
1. bake cake as directed on cake mix box (for a 13×9 cake). once cake is cooked, allow it to cool completely.

(i just had to give it a taste test.  make sure it isn’t poisonous…)

2. now crumble the cake into a bowl, and mix thoroughly with 1 can of cream cheese frosting. (make sure you use your hands.  trust me, it will change your life.  or just feel super fun.)

(pre-sticky hands)

 
3. stick the mixture into the freezer for a bit, that way it will be easier when you start rolling.

4. roll mixture into small balls (about an inch) and lay on a wax paper lined cookie sheet.

5. put the balls in the freezer for a bit.  i tried refrigerating one batch over night, and freezing another batch for about 30 minutes, and the frozen balls were much, much easier to work with.

(but please notice the missing ball!  one of these babies escaped in the dead of night… most likely into the stomach of a hungry roommate…)

6. melt baking chocolate in microwave per directions on package. (i did half a bar at a time.  i figured it would be easier to work with, and not harden on me.)
7. roll balls in chocolate and lay on wax paper until firm. (basically, you just plunk your ball in the chocolate bowl, and then use a spoon to roll it about and tap off the extra chocolate.)

* patience before sampling. these tasted much better once they hardened up/chilled in the refrigerator.

the verdict: interesting…  but, not my favorite.  looks like it will take more taste testing to train myself to like carrot cake.  but my taste testers seemed to approve. 

tester a (several balls later): “alright, i think i might like these after all.”

tester k: “um, can i have some more of your balls?”

 

5 Responses to “carrot cake balls”

  1. Keegan April 16, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    I thought these balls were very good. Kelley has the most flavorful balls I’ve ever had in my mouth. Goodness, listen to me, I sound like such an old queen.

  2. AL May 6, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    Kelley,
    I brought these to a party this past weekend and they were a big hit! Thank you for the recipe!

    p.s. jason said they were so yummy, he wanted to eat them for dinner!

  3. megan May 9, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    You have very nice balls! (insert giggle)
    I guess I’m not very mature either. 🙂

  4. Susan May 15, 2008 at 1:48 pm #

    Whoa Kelly, I am truly impressed! Jess tells me the “balls” are to die for. So will you come to Marblehead and make some? Pics are the best. I need you to come take some for me!

  5. Heather July 29, 2009 at 11:54 am #

    I agree the carrot cake ones are not my favorite, however I strongly recommend chocolate cake with dark chocolate frosting! This recipe has made me more friends than I can handle (and more party invites!).

Leave a Reply

